Alberta Liberal Party

The Liberal Party is the oldest continuous party in Alberta's history, having maintained the same name ever since the province's creation in 1905. They were also Alberta's first government, governing until 1921 when the United Farmers of Alberta took over the mantle in a surprise upset. Since then, the Liberal Party has nominated candidates in every election except one (in 1944) and only failed to elect candidates in three more (from 1971 to 1982). For a long time in Alberta's history, the Liberal Party was fairly conservative - typically making it hard for the actual original Conservative Party to really find a foothold for a long time. 

In modern history, the Alberta Liberal Party has suffered from a connection to the Liberal Party of Canada; no Liberal was elected to the Alberta Legislature during the entirety of Pierre Trudeau's time as Prime Minister, and that connection has coloured the way many Albertans see the Alberta Liberals to this day despite the parties not being integrated. 2004 was the last time the Liberal Party elected a double-digit number of MLAs, and in 2012 the party lost the Official Opposition - a role that it had held since 1993. In 2015, then-leader David Swann won the party's sole seat in the Legislature, but was succeeded as leader by David Khan halfway through the session.

A former lawyer, Khan has managed the impressive feat of having run in three elections since 2014 - Calgary-West in 2014, Calgary-Buffalo in 2015, and Calgary-Lougheed in 2017 half a year after becoming party leader. Khan is the first openly-gay party leader in Alberta history, and is licensed to practice law in Alberta, Manitoba, and the Northwest Territories with a specialization in Indigenous rights and land claims litigation.


LIB Leader

David Khan


Jun. 4, 2017

Want to know more about David Khan? Check out their bio video down below!

A Brief Liberal Party History

For a full history of the LIB in Alberta, click the "History" button below!

For a list of all LIB MLAs, please click the "MLAs" button below!

For information on the LIB's policies, click the "Policies" button below!


To see who's running for the LIB in 2019, click the "Election" button below!